Discussion

Scroll down to the bottom of the page to post a new question, comment or feedback. Your post will then appear at the top of the page.

Thanks for stopping by!

113 thoughts on “Discussion”

1. Hello Niels, A big thank you for the lessons 1 to 10 from Ted Reeds book. I started learning four months ago with an excellent teacher; your videos are such a bonus for practice and revision. At 66 years old it is only for the joy of it that I have begun this journey. Not sure how good a player i can become, but I adore jazz and classical and would love it if I can start understanding better what is actually happening in the music. Best regards, Purnendu

2. Hello Sir, thank you for posting this!
    I have a question in lesson eleven from the ted reed’s syncopation book.
    On the first measure It says sixteen notes but the last note is not played but still counted right? Else it will just be a triplet of you don’t count it. Especially on the number 2. If you don’t pause the play for a 1/16th and go right into counting “&, ah” that then has a triplet feel. Do I understand that correctly?

3. Thank you for sharing this comprehensive, intelligent, and well considered website on drums! I’m 60 and want to learn how to play the drums. My parents had me play guitar when I was young, but drums were my true passion. I tried playing in my 40’s but was too busy and didn’t have access to a good teacher. Now I have time and access to a wealth of guidance as your website provides. Thank you! Todd.

4. Niels, I have a question about the F triad…..Tuning: snare A, rack tom F, floor tom C. They sounded wonderful until I turned my snare wires on. The snare buzz is awful, I mean god awful. I anticipated more buzz but not to that extent. I tried just about everything to get the buzz under control. If you Google melanic drumming 100’s of videos will come up. What’s the secret to this configuration that allows you to play at this high tuning without all the snare buzz?